Jamberry vs. Incoco: The nail battle is REAL (UPDATED!!)

(PREFACE: Yes, it has been a while since I posted anything. Instead of explaining my absence, I decided to just talk about anything, just to break the ice! Enjoy!)

Since I have increased my workouts and have now included using weights to battle that #fatdemon (thanks for that term Chrystal Evans Hurst), I have been concerned with the looks of my hair and……nails. Yes, NAILS. Working out is awesome for the body, but can wreak havoc on my ‘do and fingernails. Lately, I have been wanting my hands to look nice and well, feminine while lifting weights. So, I have been searching for something with easy application and requires virtually little to no drying time. Since I have small kiddos, no babysitter and on a tight budget I looked into the idea of trying Jamberry. For those who don’t recognize the brand, Jamberry is a direct sales company offering nail wraps and lacquer free of toxic chemicals. After hearing about the positive reviews, I decided to hunt up a local rep to try out the product. I ordered the french mani nail wraps from the website, which was very easy to navigate. With tax, shipping and handling, I shelled out roughly $22. According to the site, the wraps were good for 2 applications for fingers and toes- which equates to a month of usage. Not bad economically, considering that you can expect to pay $70 (and up) at the nail salon. After a mix up at the post office, my package arrived two weeks later than expected, but I wasn’t terribly hurt by the delay. However, my first application wasn’t as easy as hoped and the wraps actually slid off my fingers by the morning!!!!! Yet, two factors did play a major role: I didn’t prep my nails ( being wiping my nails down with rubbing alcohol to clean and remove excess oils) and using not enough heat to cause the wraps to better adhere to the natural nail. A week after the failure, I re-applied the wraps with much better success than the first go-around. Yet, I could not ignore the wrinkles on some of the nails that due to the limited flexibility of the wraps. ( I should tell you that the wraps are not 100% nail polish, but much like stickers. Stickers that need added heat to stay on the nails. AHEM. ) In all, the wraps lasted a week. By the end, my tips were looking pretty busted (see below in the pic). I mean, I do deal with babies, housework, and weights- SHEESH! But still….. At this point, I picked up Incoco nail polish wraps from Wal-Mart. I was already familiar with the product, but after the Jamberry issues I decided to give it a whirl, and at $4.97, I was on board! Application was a breeze! No wrinkles, enough stretch to go over all the nail- my nails looked fabulous!!!!! In fact, it is day 7 of wear and they still look pretty good! As much as I want to like Jamberry, I think that they should work on the wraps a bit more to make them more user friendly. However, their customer service is awesome…..I recently received a free pack of french mani wraps! Good way to make a gal happy 🙂

‘Til next time!

(UPDATE: So much for “next time”- try next 30 minutes after publishing this post! : My Jamberry rep Valencia assured me that Jamberry is actively working on improving their wraps, and they’re actually launching some new products in July! I cannot wait to get my little greedy hands on the product and do a review! Again, Jamberry’s customer service is stellar and check out my rep’s site if you’re interested: https://valenciavivaciousnails.jamberry.com/us/en/)

Leave a Reply

