From there to here, aka from being a stay at home mom to work from home mom

Looking back over the past two years, making the shift from being a stay at home mom to a work from home mom has not been easy, to say the least. When I made the initial choice in the summer of 2013 to quit my job in order to stay home with my newborn son, I totally underestimated the impact it would have financially, emotionally, and spiritually. Looking back on it, it was only by the grace of God that I didn’t go bonkers. I was a new mom who recently moved to a new residence (more about that later). I was leaving behind colleagues that I knew for the past 13 years. It was a lot to take in.

Instead of taking a moment to fully allowing myself to acknowledge what was feeling, I made the somewhat foolish decision to jump back into school ( which didn’t work out, not surprisingly). I also made my first attempt into working from home as a Avon representative, which was a learning experience. First of all, I was attempting to build a new customer base while staying indoors ( an oxymoron, I know). I discovered that it is quite difficult to sell to others without an aggressive marketing plan. Simply placing brochures at Starbucks and my fave dry cleaners wasn’t going to cut it! Convincing others to shop online proved to be challenging ( especially with the older church ladies). And how could I forget that I nearly got scammed…..yeah it was rough and I managed to bow out with some grace.

Despite the lows, I learned greatly from the experience. Plus, it only made me more determined than ever to master this whole thing of “working from home”. To be continued………

Leave a Reply

