the choice is yours….no really it is

Lately there has been quite the buzz on breastfeeding. Just to be clear -breastfeeding is not a new phenomenon. It’s been around since the dawn of man . It’s easier (or at least for me ) , cheaper and, well, natural. Nowadays, a kind of war has broken out between the militant “boob -only ” group of moms and the “gimme- the- similac” mothers . I’ve  a fellow bloggers account of her choice to formula feed her two daughters, much to the distaste of other moms. I’ve also heard the account of my former co-worker, who actively fought against the breast feeding diatribe spewed forth from well -meaning nurses at the hospital . My take : what’s the big deal about a mother choosing to feed her children with formula? The majority of moms ranging from ages 21 to 34 were born to Baby Boomer moms . Given the cultural shift in norms when this group of women came of age, i would suspect that many of them weren’t necessarily interested in staying home and having the babe suckle at the breast. For example, my own mom did not breast feed and doesn’t regret it. Am I lacking? Absolutely not!

I know some readers are reading and thinking “Well, it’s obvious that she doesn’t breast feed.” But they’re wrong: I do nurse. I have grown to love the intimate way I’m providing nourishment to my growing baby boy. It is amazing, and I tell that to anyone who will listen. However, I do control my zeal. I understand that you just can’t mentally beat a poor mom into breast feeding submission. So, I’m done. Off my soap box- for now!

Leave a Reply

